Drunk Lambs At a Wolf Party..

I come from an awesome family. My father, I don’t think I mentioned, is a retired biker. I tell people that and you should see the looks I get. Its hilarious. Yes, my father was a biker long before Jax Teller made it hot. From before my birth until my teen years. He was the real deal too. Not this shit you see on FX although they do have some similarities. He retired I believe when I was about sixteen may be fifteen, but didn’t abandon the life he knew so well so I remember a lot and I miss it a lot.
The people were truly awesome. We had fun. I miss the bands and the bikes. people were always smiling and laughing and hugging. It was nice compared to life now. I can remember going to parties after I moved out of my parent’s house and thinking “This is not a party, This is a ticking time bomb waiting to happen.” That many drunk hormonal young people fighting over drunken hormonal chicks or who stepped on their Jordan’s while drunkenly falling all over the place. That was the only time I was ever scared at a “party”. There was no loyalty to watch over your fellow females or honor amongst the guys. They were kids and it was a free for all. Where I grew up it wasn’t like that at all. And its funny to me all my life I have fallen under the stereo type poor white trash and I got older I found that I preferred it to being some punks kid drunk at some frat party getting hurt. I partied along side my parents where they knew that I was drinking they knew to not get hammered and leave me. They knew to tell the others “hey newt is having a drink help keep an eye out?” and they did. No I wasn’t some fourteen year old child. I was a 17 and 18 year old child that thought I knew everything just like any other kid and I was taken care of. They knew damn well I was going to do this no matter what someone else told me about underage drinking and what happens at high school and college parties. I knew perfectly straight laced girls with awesome parents who still ended up in those situations trashed at a party and at the clinic a month later all to shit. It happens, its reality. There is no changing it no matter what the law is.
My parents did the only thing they knew to do to help keep me safe. Luckily I am no where near that point of even needing to worry about that with my own children and I am not saying I will do it. All I am saying here is no ones life is the same. There are many different ways to live life and different paths to choose and to be totally honest there is no “right way” to do anything. You could do something today that doesn’t decide to bite you in the ass until about 15 years from now or hell it might not but you don’t know today that that one blow of the wind is going to change a thing.
We were also a very tight nit type of family. Went a lot of places together and we could argue amongst ourselves, but you can bet there would be hell to pay if someone else did so. I have found a lot of families like that over the years though so I don’t really see that as amazing or different. What I do see different is our family when we went places together everyone watched the kids it wasn’t like now when you go to a park and you see Lucinda’s kid acting up you don’t go over and let little Suzy know her behavior is wrong. People tend to go crazy if you do, but the way I was raised it was much different. If we all went somewhere and children were playing and a child’s behavior was a bit on the bad side then whoever standing there said hey little Suzy that’s not nice. That’s not how you treat people. Little Suzy’s mom did not go spastic and yell don’t speak to my child and so on like you see now.
I read a news article a couple weeks ago about people being upset about an M.C. in there neighborhood. They stressed their crime rate and so forth would go up. Now this particular M.C. I know personally and I literally doubled over laughing at some of the concerns these people had. Now don’t get me wrong I know for a fact there are bad guys out there wearing patches, but I also know for a fact there are bad guys out there in a uniform also. I also know there are bad doctors, bad lawyers, bad parents, bad people everywhere. Does that make them all bad? Hell no. When Joe Blow up the street decides to break in my house I am still going to call the police and hope like hell they aren’t in on it and I get a good guy. That’s life, its just the way things are. But these particular guys and their families are not bad. When I sat down later and thought about it to read the things I did about them really made me hurt for them. They are great people who think about their community and the effects they have on children and do toy drives and runs to help kids and people in need. It’s just more proof you can’t lump up everyone into one category or another.

Leave a comment